**The Beverly Most Improved Trophy** was started by the Beverly Yacht Club in 1994 with the surplus from running the 1993 Nationals. This trophy is awarded to the skipper that shows the most improvement from one National Championship Regatta to the next. The suggested method of calculating the score for awarding this trophy is as follows:

## **Calculation for the Beverly Most Improved Trophy:**

**Step 1.** Identify the skippers that sailed in both regattas.

**Step II.** Convert the official low-point scores to high-point scores. (Number of entries plus one times number of races less low-point score.)

Example: 2000	
	29entries
	<u>+1</u>
	30
	<u>x5</u>
	150

Burnham's Low-Point Score -67 Burnham's High-Point Score 83

For a series with a set number of participants, high-point scoring gives exactly the same placement as low-point scoring. The reason for using high-point is so that the number of participants in the regatta will be reflected in the scoring. For instance, under low-point scoring, the tenth boat in a 30-boat fleet gets the same score as the tenth boat in a ten-boat fleet. This is not true in high-point scoring.

Step III. Determine the perfect score. That is: what a boat's score would have been if it won all of the races.

Example: 2000

29 entries

29 One Race Score <u>x5</u> races 145 Perfect Five Race Score

**Step IV.** Calculate each boat's score as a percentage of the perfect score.

Example: 2000	Burnham's High-Point Score	83/
	Divided by Perfect score	<u>145</u>
	% of Perfect	.572413793%

Step V Divide current year's improvement in the percent-of-perfect score by the prior year's to determine percent improvement.

Example: 2000	Burnham's 2000	.572413793
	-Burnham's 1999	<u>.571428571</u>
	Burnham's improvement	.000985222/
	Divided by 1999	.571428571
		00170414.0/
	Burnham's %Improvement	.00172414 %

## Step VI. Rank competitors by percentage improvement. Greatest improvement wins.

Note: Some judgment is required in determining the winner of this trophy. The Association believes that the percent-of-perfect score for the base-year should be determined by races finished. The trophy should not be awarded to a skipper whose low prior year's score was because of DSQ's, DNF's or DNS's. If a skipper has four finishes and a DSQ, calculate his percent-of perfect base score on the four races finished.

If an entrant completes less than three races in the base-year series, he should not be considered eligible for the trophy. All races including DSQ's, DNF's or DNS's should be included in calculating the current year's percent-of-perfect scores. This trophy does not have to be awarded each year if, in the opinion of the National Regatta Committee, a scoring quirk exists that makes the award illogical and inappropriate. Calculations of the 1999 and 2000 National Regatta scores were:

2000	Card Sound (5 races)				
		29	entries		
		+1			
		30			
		x5			
		150			
sail #	skipper	low pt score	high pt score	%of perfect score (145)	
790	wendy goodwin-kelley	49	101.00	0.696551724	
80	dave burnham	67	83.00	0.572413793	
416	ed desmarais	79	71.00	0.489655172	
128	brad burnham	82	68.00	0.468965517	
291	connie lavigne	96	54.00	0.372413793	
853	frank berson	127	23.00	0.15862069	
1999	Sandy Bay (4 races)				
		14	entries		
		+1			
		15			
		x4			
		60			
sail #	skipper	low pt score	high pt score	%of perfect score (56)	
790	wendy goodwin-kelley	16	44	0 785714286	
80	dave burnham	28	32	0.571428571	
416	ed desmarais	11	49	0.875	
128	brad burnham	29		0.571428571	
201		20	32	0.571428571	
291		29	24	0.000071429	
000			24	0.42037 1429	
impr	ovement calculation				
sail #	skipper	1999	2000	improvement	% Improvement
790	wendy goodwin-kelley	0.785714286	0.696551724	-0.089162562	-0.113479624
80	dave burnham	0.571428571	0.572413793	0.000985222	0.001724138
416	ed desmarais	0.875	0.489655172	-0.385344828	-0.440394089
128	brad burnham	0.571428571	0.468965517	-0.102463054	-0.179310345
291	connie lavigne	0.553571429	0.372413793	-0.181157635	-0.327252503
853	frank berson	0.428571429	0.15862069	-0.269950739	-0.629885057
<b>D</b>					
Javid is the only one in the positive, he wins the most improved for 2000					